UCLH Celebrating Excellence Awards 2019

Staff from across UCLH were congratulated for their hard work at the annual Celebrating Excellence Awards

Winners were announced at the elegant ceremony, held at The Royal Lancaster London Hotel, across the 17 categories including excellence in education, junior doctor or dentist of the year and top quality patient care.
This included the patient-nominated living the values award, which was won by consultant Mustansir Alibhai. TV and radio presenter Adrian Chiles, who hosted the event, said: “Your pride in your organisation is amazing.

“It’s great to come and pay tribute to you all. From the porters to the profs, it’s a great honour to be here.”

He was invited to the ceremony after writing a piece in the Guardian about the positive experience his friend was having undergoing radiotherapy at UCLH.

Celebrating achievement & hard work

Marcel Levi, chief executive, said: “It’s fantastic to be able to celebrate the achievements, hard work and dedication of so many of our brilliant staff. It was an honour to be at the event and I am proud of every single one of you.”

Ben Morrin, workforce director, said: “Thursday night’s dinner was our biggest ever with more than 510 colleagues coming together.

“Our latest pledge is to involve even more staff in celebrating the achievements everyone contributes across UCLH and so I am delighted we’ll be holding more such events this winter and into next year too.

“We owe sincere thanks to the UCLH Charity for funding the awards and the Staff Experience Team for organising the ceremony so well.”

The winners

The winners are:

The Matron Team at Queen Square – safety

David Chal
general manager, emergency division – kindness

Radiotherapy play team
– teamwork

Henry Wilson
– improving

Linda Huggins
, clinical practice facilitator/nurse educator – nurse or midwife leader of the year award

Facial pain MDT team
at Eastman Dental Hospital – top quality patient care award

Alexa Coombes
, clinical systems designer, electronic health record system – EHRS Champion of the Year

– contribution to world–class research

Sheila Saunders
– volunteer of the year

Manisha Bhogal
, staff experience team – apprentice of the year

Mustansir Alibhai
, consultant in the Surgical Specialities Division – patient-nominated Living the Values

Daminee Seetannah
, sepsis improvement nurse – excellence in education

Charlotte Betteridge
, occupational therapist team lead – allied health professional and pharmacy colleague of the year

Jonathan Coppel
, anaesthetics specialty registrar, emergency division – junior doctor or dentist of the year

Shirine Yasse
, events and education centre manager – outstanding admin and support contribution award

Natasha Phillips
, chief nursing informatics officer – chief executive’s leadership award

Donald Peebles
, Anna David and fetal surgery team – the chair’s achievement award

With thanks to UCLH Charity for funding the event.